May: Vincent Price Month–Day Twenty-Six

Image

Today I thought I’d do something a bit different. Since Vincent and Peter Cushing were really good friends, and today would have been  Peter’s one-hundred-and-first birthday, I decided to do a post about him. I haven’t seen a lot of his films, but I know that he was very fond of Vincent. He was also a cultured man who had a vast amount of knowledge. In an interview published in ABC Film Review in November 1964, Cushing stated, “People look at me as if I were some sort of monster, but I can’t think why. In my macabre pictures, I have either been a monster-maker or a monster-destroyer, but never a monster. Actually, I’m a gentle fellow. Never harmed a fly. I love animals, and when I’m in the country I’m a keen bird watcher.” In an interview published in 1966, he added, “I do get terribly tired with the neighbourhood kids telling me ‘My mum says she wouldn’t want to meet you in a dark alley.

 

Leave a Reply

